Governing Board (As on February 1st, 2016)

Dr. Nirmala Murthy ,  Founder, FRHS

Dr. Murthy is the founder president of FRHS since February 1989. She is a doctorate (D.SC) from the Harvard School of Public Health, Massachusetts. She has taught at the Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad, (Public Systems Group), for almost 20 years and has been a consultant to various large scale projects like the World Bank, DfID, UNICEF in the area of monitoring and evaluation of reproductive health, maternal and child health and nutrition programs. Her area of expertise is health management information and evaluation systems.

Dr. Vijaykumar Aruldas,  Hon.President

Presently, Chief Executive of CMAI, New Delhi and member of various boards. Dr. Aruldas has a vast experience with NGOs and in research. He has also done a three month fellowship in 1998 at Harvard School of Public Health to study health care quality efforts. His expertise include- management of NGO organizations working in development and health areas, strategic management of health care organizations and inculcating a continuous quality improvement (CQI) approach among outpatient services.

Prof. P. M. Shingi  Member

Retired as a Professor after 32 years of service at the Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad (IIMA), he was also the Dean as well as the Officiating Director of IIMA. He actively undertook research and outreach activities for sectors like agribusiness, forestry, water, cooperatives, knowledge extension, and rural industry mostly in India and South-East Asia. He has competed 40 management consulting assignments for national and international organizations like Government of India, USAID, FAO, Ford Foundation, International Cooperative Alliance, Geneva, IDRC Canada, WINROCK International, and The World Bank. He has written seven books and several research based articles. He has served as a member of several national and state level policy making task forces. He has been an active institution builder. He is also the recipient of the AGROFORESTRY AWARD for championing farmer initiated agroforestry models to international audience. After his retirement, he worked at Multimedia University in Malaysia for two years. Currently he is the Dean of FLAME School of Business and also the Dean of FLAME Doctorate in Business Studies at Pune.

Dr. P.S.S. Sundar Rao,  Member

Dr. Rao is a well-known biostatistician and is presently the research coordinator at the Leprosy Mission Trust India, New Delhi. He was a Professor at Christian Medical College, Vellore, for over 30 years and a member of the Staff Advisory Committee of the Indian Council of Medical Research, Department of Science and Technology and as a committee member to various institutions.

Dr. Leela Visaria  Member

Leela Visaria holds Ph.D in Sociology from Princeton University and is a former Professor and Director of GIDR. During 2008-09 she was awarded National Professorship by Indian Council for Social Science Research. Currently she is an Honorary Professor at GIDR. She has worked extensively on historical demography, health, family planning, education and demographic transition. During 1994-2008, she served as a coordinator of HealthWatch, a network of NGOs and researchers, which engaged in dialogue with policy makers, donors, researchers and activists on various gender-sensitive population and health policy issues. She was elected as the President of Asian Population Association for 2009-2010 that organized the first international conference of the Association in New Delhi during November 2010.

Dr. (Mrs) Padmavathy Venkatasubramanian  Member

With more that 16 years of experience, she is currently working as Professor and Advisor with School of Life Sciences, Institute of Trans-disciplinary Health Sciences & Technology (ITD-HST) and Foundation for Revitalisation of Local Health Tradition (FRLHT).

Mr. R C Chib,  Founder Member

Ms. Usha Raghunath,  Member


Institutional Review Board (As on February 1st, 2016)

Dr. Hemant Apte,  Chairman

Ms. Sanghamitra Iyengar,  Member

Dr. D.K.Srinivas,  Member

Dr. Dileep Mavalankar,  Member

Dr. Vijayprasad Gopichandran ,  Member

Mrs. Aparna Ravi,  Member

Dr. Roopa Devadasan,  Member

Back to Top